Asclepios Wellness & Healing Retreat - , Alajuela, Costa Rica

Reviews

“Like Tuscany in Costa Rica”/March 2017

We've stayed here twice and had breakfasts and dinners many times in there restaurant. This is a lovely, secluded estate, but close in to La Garita, Alajuela and San Jose and its airport.

The dinners are wonderful spa food, some of the best we've enjoyed in CR.

The hilltop location is beautiful...a combination of CR, Tuscany and New England.

It's very quiet there during the week, so don't be surprised if you think it all belongs to you!


Lush and serene paradise.../February 2017

My wife and I stayed at Asclepios for four nights in February 2017. We lucked out with gorgeous, warm days and cool nights for the entire trip. Charmed by the area's natural beauty, and impressed by the amazing staff's efforts, we had a fantastic experience at this wonderful spa.
After a short (10 min) drive from the airport, we had a smooth check in accompanied by fresh chilled juice. We were then escorted to our room. We quickly began drinking in the spender of the property, and it seems this process never really stops while you're at Asclepios.
Situated amongst many hills covered with plantations and forested greenery, the retreat had a quiet, peaceful aura, punctuated by constant birdsong. The grounds were meticulously and frequently maintained by gardeners and it showed. With abundant flowers, fruit trees and vegetable gardens spread out around the estate, it was the perfect setting for epic sunsets, catching a glimpse of wild toucans, or just snoozing in the shade. All of the rooms looked out into the hills via private balcony or garden.
Our room, though simple, was extremely comfortable and nicely furnished. Although it lacked an air conditioner, television, fridge, or wifi access, it made up for it with elegant architectural flourishes, great natural toiletries in the bathroom, and a soft, luxurious bed with plenty of extra pillows. Having zero electronic devices in our room helped illustrate that this was definitely a place to unplug, unwind and relax.
Asclepios offered many short day trips and excursions within a few hours from the hotel, and it was just a short Uber drive to the town, but we spent most of our time lounging by the small lap pool, unwinding. Having heard that the food served at Asclepios was "health-conscious", we were skeptical about the menu. After our first bite of the fresh, locally sourced vegetables, however, we ate all our meals at the spa. We must have gone through every item on the very limited menu, and each dish was truly delicious.
The Asclepios spa menu was expansive, particularly their multi-day programs that incorporated special diets, lifestyle counseling, and an assortment of treatments, including exotic options such as Watsu therapy and access to the exquisite on-site hammam (Moroccan steam room). All our therapists were well-trained practitioners and provided exceptional service in clean, comfortable treatment areas.
The staff at the spa were the icing on the cake. Courteous, conscientious, and discreetly everywhere, it was so nice to be looked after by smiling, attentive hosts. Special shout-outs to Daniel for ensuring that we always had a fresh beverage when we needed one, Sonya for her massage therapy skills, Esther the Watsu practitioner, and the maids who kept our room spotless.

Secluded Retreat, Amazing Food / March 24, 2011

SLS43000 1 contributions
Cincinnati, Ohio
Mar 24, 2011 | Traveled with: Spouse/Partner Nuevo
Traveled from NYC - 5 hour direct flight. Hotel 20 minutes from International Airport (SJO). About an hour outside of San Jose city. Beautiful grounds - everything first class, new - rooms, dining room, pools, spa, fitness center. Restaurant AMAZING - ate almost every meal at restaurant - predominately fish and vegetarian, very flavorful - a true treat. Staff very professional and helpful. Young, eager. Remote - not a lot to 'do' at hotel per se other than relax, read. But close to walking trails, volcano, zip lining etc. Not a place to go for constant busy - all about calm and relax - renewal. Hotel working on hiking trail - that is the one thing I wish they had to add to amazing grounds - they have the acres and are working on it. Highly recommended. SLS

Date of stay March 2011
Visit was for Leisure
Traveled with Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend? Yes
Was this review helpful? Yes

Perfection! / March 10, 2011

ElaineMH 2 contributions
New York City, New York
Mar 10, 2011 | Traveled with: Solo Traveler Nuevo
I went to Asclepios to recover from a bout of ill health and it more than met my expectations. Almost all the spa treatments were excellent, especially the Turkish steam "hamam" and the Scottish shower. The most impressive aspect was the staff who were willing to meet every need, including arranging for horse riding at establishment next door (excellent horses). The food was outstanding and exceptionally healthy, the pool small but gorgeous, the surrounding hills beautiful, the heath advice very helpful, and the convenience of the hotel 20 min from the airport makes is an easy and relaxing destination. The retreat is spectacularly decorated by the owner in a tasteful and elegant fashion. This is an adult retreat that is suitable for individuals or couples. Cannot say enough about the excellence of Asclepios, its owner, and the staff.

Date of stay February 2011
Visit was for Leisure
Traveled with Solo Traveler
Member since March 10, 2011

Amazing!!!!! / February 9, 2011

Mo 2284 1 contributions
Chicago, Illinois
Feb 9, 2011 | Traveled with: With Spouse/Partner
This place was absolutely AMAZING! I would recommend it to everyone. I cant say enough good things about it, the views, the design, the food everything was absolutely beautiful. Its a must visit on your trip, you will not be disapointed.

Date of stay: February 2011
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveled with: With Spouse/Partner
Member since: November 24, 2009
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend? Yes
Was this review helpful? Yes

Great Place to just relax / November 15, 2010

BUTravel 1 contributions
Boston, Massachusetts
Nov 15, 2010 | Traveled with: With Spouse/Partner
Asclepios is just wonderful. The rooms details are incredible, beds are very comfortable, food is great and talk about the treatments. The sense of peace and relaxation is something I would recommend anybody that goes to Costa Rica to experience.

Date of stay November 2010
Visit was for Leisure
Traveled with Spouse/Partner
Member since November 15, 2010
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend? Yes
Was this review helpful? Yes

Hermoso Hotel... / August 26, 2010

andreita 3 contributions
San Jose, Costa Rica
Aug 26, 2010 | Traveled with: With Spouse/Partner
Me hospede con mi pareja y la pasamos muy RELAJADOS, TRANQUILOS y CONSENTIDOS!!! el hotel es encantador, la vista y el servicio son excelente... la comida es del mejor nivel!!! definitivamente queremos volver para recibir los excelente tratamientos de SPA que brindan...

Date of stay August 2010
Visit was for Leisure
Traveled with Spouse/Partner
Age group 25-34
Member since August 26, 2010
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend? Yes
Was this review helpful? Yes

The Best Option in Costa Rica / September 6, 2010

Shirocko 7 contributions
San Jose, Costa Rica
Sep 6, 2010 | Traveled with: Solo Traveler
Just relaxing, very clean ... the location is excellent, all treatments are simply relaxing, you feel surrounded by nature pure.
A nice relaxing experience

Date of stay June 2009
Visit was for Business
Traveled with Solo Traveler
Member since June 10, 2010
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend? Yes

Exceeded my expectatoins / August 10, 2010

fionahen 2 contributions
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Aug 10, 2010 | Traveled with Other

My Mother and I stayed here the first week of August. We searched the internet for the right "wellness retreat" and found that this met our requirements. Small, intimate, organic food, ionized pool, triple filtered drinking water, inclusive treatments.

The service was amazing and we felt like part of a family during our stay. The owner, Marisia Jimenez had a very well thought out vision for the retreat which has actualized into an incredible reality. She will go out of her way to help you and provide the right diet and treatments during your stay. The rooms are simple yet luxurious and very comfortable.

I would highly recommend Asclepios for anyone looking to get away to rest, relax, heal, detox or learn to eat better etc.

Date of stay August 2010
Visit was for Leisure
Traveled with Other
Age group 25-34
Member since August 10, 2010
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend? Yes
Was this review helpful? Yes

Great trip! Exceeded our expectations!! / June 21, 2010

ford29 1 contributions
Alabama
Jun 21, 2010 | Traveled with: Extended Family

The PERSONNEL Knew What They Were doing and were very professional . The Accommodations and food were excellent. The organization and administration of the week was excellent. We Were Impressed the most with the Attention to detail and the sensativity of the program and the staff to the clientele.

Date of stay June 2010
Visit was for Leisure
Traveled with Extended Family
Member since June 21, 2010
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend? Yes
Was this review helpful? Yes

One of Life's most memorable experiences / August 10, 2010

Susanna1 1 contributions
Middleton, WI
Aug 10, 2010 | Traveled with Solo Traveler

My stay at Asclepios Healing & Wellness Retreat was phenomenal. The facility was brand new, beautifully designed and executed and so very comfortable. The food was phenomenal. It was individually tailored to my needs and wants. The services received were excellent. The Director had chosen very qualified personnel to perform the different services and was very open to meeting my needs and changing services when necessary. I was well rested and so satisfied when I left. I would recommend to anyone who needs to get "quiet time", get away from stress and other distractions and immerse themselves in luxurious accommodations, food and services. It's definitely on my list to revisit every couple of years.

Date of stay January 2010
Visit was for Leisure
Traveled with Solo Traveler
Age group 50-64
Member since March 31, 2010
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend? Yes
Was this review helpful? Yes

Muy tranquilo y elegante... / November 18, 2010

Lush and serene paradise.../February 2017

papillon 1 contributions
Paris
Nov 18, 2009 | Traveled with: With Spouse/Partner

Fuimos al principio cuando no estaba finito. Entonces no podemos criticar mucho. Lo que podemos decir es que la comida esta muy muy rica y el servicio del restaurante muy bonito. La directora tambien. La habitacion esta muy linda y elegante. Pero pensemos que el precio esta demasiado alto.

Date of stay August 2009
Visit was for Leisure
Traveled with Spouse/Partner
Age group 25-34
Member since November 18, 2009
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend? Yes
Was this review helpful? Yes



Canatur Greenleaders Turismo Sostenible Amigos Pro Parques Naturales Cámara costarricence de Hoteles